Przeskocz do treści

Withdrawal Agreement Who Voted

The 2019 revisions also adapted elements of the political declaration, replacing the word "appropriate" with "appropriate" in relation to labour standards. According to Sam Lowe, a trade researcher at the Centre for European Reform, the change excludes labour standards from dispute resolution mechanisms. [27] In addition, the level playing field mechanism has been moved from the legally binding Withdrawal Agreement to the Political Declaration[24] and the line in the Political Declaration that "the UK will consider aligning itself with EU legislation in relevant areas" has been deleted. [26] On September 3, Oliver Letwin submitted a request for an emergency debate on this bill, pursuant to Regulation No. 24. This motion, in order to allow for debate the following day, was adopted by 328 votes to 301. [120] [121] 21 Conservative MPs voted in favour of the motion and were later removed from their positions as Conservative whip and voted against them for future elections, as Johnson had already threatened. The 21 MPs were Guto Bebb, Richard Benyon, Steve Brine, Alastair Burt, Greg Clark, Ken Clarke, David Gauke, Justine Greening, Dominic Grieve, Sam Gyimah, Phillip Hammond, Stephen Hammond, Richard Harrington, Margot James, Letwin, Anne Milton, Caroline Nokes, Antoinette Sandbach, Nicholas Soames, Rory Stewart and Ed Vaizey. This, combined with Phillip Lee`s defection to the Liberal Democrat party earlier in the day, gave the opposition a 43-seat majority on the government. MPs also voted by 353 votes to 243 in favour of the government`s proposed timetable for the bill. Most speakers on behalf of the political groups commented on the historic importance of the vote, stressing that the WITHDRAWAL of the United Kingdom will not be the end of the path for EU-UK relations and that the ties that unite the peoples of Europe are and will remain strong.

They also mentioned that there are lessons from Brexit that should shape the future of the EU and thanked the UK and its MPs for their contribution throughout the UK`s accession. Many speakers warned that negotiations on the future relationship between the EU and the UK would be difficult, especially given the timetable set out in the Withdrawal Agreement. On the side of the European Union, the European Parliament also voted in favour of ratifying the agreement on the 29th. January 2020[40], and the Council of the European Union approved the conclusion of the agreement by email on 30 January 2020[41]. [42] As a result, the European Union also deposited its instrument of ratification of the Agreement on 30 January 2020, thus concluding the Agreement[43], allowing it to enter into force at 11.m GMT on 31 January 2020 on the date of the Withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the Union. The agreement was revised as part of the Johnson Ministry`s renegotiation in 2019. The amendments adapt about 5% of the text. [22] Following the success of the First Letwin Amendment, indicative votes were held on 27 March on Parliament`s preferred Brexit options. .

Opublikowano Kategorie Bez kategorii